Quality Awards distributed at Calhoun Coop Creamery Annual Meeting

The 121st annual meeting of Calhoun Coop Creamery, Lansing was held at the Vet's Club in Waukon Tuesday, January 31. A noon meal was served to all by BE Catered of Waukon.

President Dave Bahr called the meeting to order at 12:45 p.m. At the conclusion of the business meeting quality awards were handed out to the following producers:

First-place low bacteria award went to Jerry Egan of Harpers Ferry. There was a tie for second place between Nancy, Mike, Mark and Brenda Hartley of New Albin and Greg and Jenny Conway of Lansing. There were 43 other producers receiving outstanding quality awards.

First-place low somatic cell award also went to Jerry Egan of Harpers Ferry. There were 23 other producers receiving outstanding somatic cell awards with averages under 175,000 for the year.

A five-year quality award went to Jim Regan of Waukon. A ten-year quality award went to Devoine and Linda Kruse of Caledonia, MN. Fifteen-year quality awards were awarded to Greg and Jenny Conway of Lansing, Luke and Jan Mahr of Dorchester, Scott, Barb and Patricia Melcher of Harpers Ferry, and Gary and Therese Lechtenberg of Postville.

A 20-year quality award was given to Tom and Jeni Melcher of Castalia. A 25-year quality award was awarded to Steve, Paula, Adam and Alex Enyart of Postville.