Pair of Waukon High School students receive Beckwith Scholarship

Laurel Keenan ...

Nathan Smith ...

Waukon High School 2018 graduates Laurel Keenan and Nathan Smith have been awarded the F. William Beckwith Scholarship through the Iowa Grocers Education Foundation for the 2018-2019 academic year. The two were each chosen for the $2,000 scholarship from an applicant pool of more than 360 students.

IGEF scholarships are awarded based on academic merit to young adults who work for an Iowa Grocery Industry Association member company (either full-time or part-time)  or to sons and daughters of full-time employees whose firms are members of the Iowa Grocery Industry Association, a state trade association that represents the food industry, including chain and independent supermarkets, convenience stores, suppliers, wholesalers, brokers, manufacturers and distributors.

Both Keenan and Smith are employees of Fareway in Waukon. Keenan plans to major in marketing and management and will be a freshman at the University of Iowa this fall. Smith plans to major in pastoral science/computer science and will be a freshman at Calvary University this fall. Scholarships are provided by an endowment fund established by the Iowa Grocers Education Foundation and its supporters.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet