Waukon softball team posts back-to-back NEIC wins over Decorah and Oelwein, 9-6 and 10-2, denied a third in 7-4 loss at New Hampton

The Waukon softball team put together its first win streak of the 2018 season in winning two of three games played this past week to currently hold a 4-9 overall record that includes a mark of 2-5 in Northeast Iowa Conference (NEIC) play. The Indians scored back-to-back NEIC wins, 9-6 Monday, June 4 at Decorah and 10-2 at home over Oelwein Wednesday, June 6, before having that streak ended by a 7-4 loss at New Hampton Thursday, June 7. The softball Tribe was also supposed to play in the Riceville Tournament Saturday, June 9 but that event was canceled due to stormy weather.

The Indians were scheduled to start this week hosting Crestwood, North Fayette Valley and Waverly-Shell Rock Monday, June 11, Tuesday, June 12 and Wednesday, June 13, respectively, before playing at Osage Thursday, June 14. The softball Tribe will then play at Charles City Monday, June 18, host Decorah Wednesday, June 20 and play at Oelwein Thursday, June 21 before playing in the Decorah Tournament Saturday, June 23.

For more complete coverage, pick up this week's print edition or subscribe to our e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet