Waukon Fire Protection District members honored for 35-plus years of service ...

At the monthly meeting of the Waukon Area Fire Protection District held Monday, November12, 17 local firemen were recognized for their years of service to the Waukon Fire Department. Gene Evans and Roger Carr, Vice Presidents of the Iowa Firefighters Association (IFFA), presented a plaque and figurine to all of the living members with more than 35 years of service to the department. Carr commented that the total years of service of those 17 members honors added up to 814 years, and he noted that is the highest number of years of service they have scene while handing out these awards throughout the state of Iowa.

Pictured above at the awards presentation are the following individuals, with the award winners also listed with their years of service: Left to right - Front row: William (Bill) Campbell (53 years), Glenn Krueger (45 years), Don Haler (43 years), Robert Campbell (38 years), Gary Bulman (57 years), Neil Becker (57 years), Al Rissman (35 years), John Kerndt (65 years). Back row: IFFA presenter Roger Carr, Randy Murphy (40 years), Jim Ryan (37 years), Gary (Gus) Berger (55 years), Joe Kroack (47 years), Tom Kerndt (42 years), Glen Mathis (42 years), Waukon Fire Chief Dave Martin, IFFA presenter Gene Evans. Not pictured: Darrell Rogness (55 years), Wayne Howe (53 years), Robert Zahn (50 years). Of the 17 members honored for 35 years of service, two of them, Robert Campbell and Jim Ryan, are still active firefighters, with the remainder of the veteran crew all being retired but most of them still participating in monthly meetings, education and fundraising activities. Submitted photo.

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)