Waukon boys basketball team suffers pair of slower middle quarters in falling at Crestwood by a 60-50 final result to remain in search of first win in NEIC play

The Waukon boys basketball team ended up with just one ballgame this past week, having a Friday, January 25 Northeast Iowa Conference match-up at Waverly-Shell Rock postponed by winter weather to Monday, February 4. The game the basketball Tribe was able to play ended up being a postponement from Tuesday, January 22 at Crestwood, and when the two teams matched up Saturday, January 26 the Indians had a nearly five-minute scoreless streak turn a second half lead into an eventual 60-50 Tribe defeat.

Now holding a 4-10 season record, the basketball Tribe was next scheduled to play at Spring Grove, MN Monday, January 28 before hosting Prairie du Chien, WI Tuesday, January 29 and then playing at Charles City Friday, February 1. Those games with Spring Grove and Prairie du Chien have been canceled due to winter weather and will not be made up.

The Indians will then make up their January 25 Waverly-Shell Rock postponement Monday, February 4 - that game taking the place of a non-conference date at South Winneshiek, before hosting Decorah Tuesday, February 5 and then wrapping up their regular season Friday, February 8 hosting New Hampton. Class 2A District Tournament play begins Monday, February 11, with the site and time to be released after a Wednesday, January 30 seeding meeting.

For more complete coverage, pick up this week's print edition or subscribe to our e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet