Waukon softball team gets 2019 season underway with three victories in first four games including pair of mercy-rule wins and split with W-SR


Outfield acrobatics ... Waukon softball sophomore center fielder Regan Griffith goes airborne to snag this deep fly ball out of the air late in the Indians’ first game of a home Northeast Iowa Conference doubleheader split with Waverly-Shell Rock Thursday, May 23. Not only did Griffith track down the ball for the out, but she also fired the ball in to double-up a baserunner for a double play, and she also contributed three hits in five at-bats in the twinbill to score four runs for the Indian offense. View and find out how to purchase this photo and many more by clicking on the Photo Galleries link on this website.

The Waukon softball team got its initial week of the season under new head coach Melissa Ward off to a successful start, winning three of its first four ballgames of the season, two of those by mercy-rule victory. The softball Tribe opened the season with a 16-4 blasting of Central Elkader in just four innings on the road Tuesday, May 21 before splitting a home Northeast Iowa Conference (NEIC) doubleheader with Waverly-Shell Rock with a 12-9 loss followed by a 15-3 rout in three innings Thursday, May 23. The Lady Indians wrapped up that initial week with a 5-3 victory at home over Kee Friday, May 24, that game being shortened to just five innings by an approaching storm.

The Indians were next scheduled to host MFL/MarMac Tuesday, May 28 before traveling to Charles City Thursday, May 30 for another NEIC double-dip. The softball Tribe will then host South Winneshiek Friday, May 31 before returning to Charles City Saturday, June 1 for tournament play. The Indians will then host Decorah Monday, June 3, play at Oelwein Wednesday, June 5 and host New Hampton Thursday, June 6 before playing in the Riceville Tournament, Saturday, June 8.

For more complete coverage, pick up this week's print edition or subscribe to our e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet