Waukon softball wins two of five games, finishes third at Riceville Tournament


First homerun of her varsity career ... Waukon softball senior first baseman Brigid Berns (#10) arrives at home to a congratulatory mobbing by her teammates after blasting a two-run homerun to get the Indians on the scoreboard in their 8-3 home loss to New Hampton Thursday, June 6. In addition her first-ever varsity roundtripper, Berns also connected on a single to go two-for-three to drive in a team-high two runs and score another run. Photo by Krystal Johnson. View and find out how to purchase this photo and many more by clicking on the Photo Galleries link on this website.

The Waukon softball team played to a 2-3 record in its five games this past week, first riding a rollercoaster in Northeast Iowa Conference (NEIC) competition early in the week before splitting two games played at the Riceville Tournament Saturday, June 8. The Indians first fell to Decorah at home, 17-4, Monday, June 3 before pulling out a 9-7 victory at Oelwein in eight innings Wednesday, June 5 and then falling to New Hampton at home, 8-3, Thursday, June 6. The Tribe then competed in the four-team Riceville Tournament Saturday, June 8, beginning with a 9-1 loss to eventual tournament champion St. Ansgar before finishing as the tournament’s third-place team with a 12-4 win over Osage.

Now holding an 8-8 overall record that includes a 2-5 record in Northeast Iowa Conference play, the Indians were next scheduled to play at Crestwood Monday, June 10 and at North Fayette Valley Tuesday, June 11 before hosting Osage Thursday, June 13. The softball Tribe will then host Charles City Monday, June 17 before playing a NEIC doubleheader at Decorah Wednesday, June 19, hosting Oelwein for the same Thursday, June 20 and returning to Decorah Saturday, June 22 for the Decorah Tournament.

For more complete coverage, pick up this week's print edition or subscribe to our e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet