Presentation on the Old Stone House scheduled for November 3 ...

The Old Stone House (pictured above) has been an integral part of Allamakee County history. Local historian Cindy Berns of Postville will talk about the iconic landmark at a meeting of the Allamakee County Historical Society Sunday, November 3 at 2 p.m. The meeting will be held in the community room at Robey Memorial Library, located at 401 First Avenue NW in Waukon. Refreshments will be served following the program.

Arriving in the county in 1849, Reuben Smith and his family staked a claim and built a log cabin along the Yellow River. Smith owned 1,700 acres, including Smiths Mills, a gristmill. Construction on the stately home began in 1853 and was finished three years later. In 1851, Smith’s Place lost to Columbus in the contest to be the county seat. After Reuben Smith’s death in 1881, the house passed through several owners and fell into disrepair. Reuben’s wife, Martha, had died in 1862. In 1921 it was purchased by the County and became a county park. The restored house hosted community picnics and special events until it burned down in November 1957. Submitted photo.
 

Rate this article: 
No votes yet