Jarred and Shelby Moose named finalists in the National Outstanding Young Farmers Awards Program

Shelby and Jarred Moose ... Submitted photo.

A rural Allamakee County couple has been named among the National Outstanding Young Farmers (NOYF) Awards Program finalists for 2021. The oldest farmer recognition program in the United States, NOYF honored eight finalists from across the nation and will announce four winners at the 2022 NOYF Awards Congress. The annual NOYF Awards Congress for 2021 has been canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Jarred and Shelby Moose of rural Monona, near the Allamakee/Clayton County border, were among those eight finalists selected from the award nomination process. According to nomination information from the award, the couple raises soybeans, hay and cattle on the family farm. Throughout his farming career, Jarred Moose has worked to increase conservation practices such as no-till, terraces and manure spreading. Jarred is the son of Lesa and the late Jim Moose. Shelby is the daughter of Wayne Byrnes and Barb Byrnes.

The couple was one of three farm couples from the Midwest named as finalists, the other two being Gary and Tina Schoenfeld of Waseca, MN and Philip and Laura Finger of Oconto, WI. Other finalists were from Connecticut, Georgia, New Jersey, New Mexico and Washington.

All finalists were selected for the award based on their progress in an agricultural career, extent of soil and water conservation practices, and contributions to the well-being of the community, state and nation.

The purpose of the Outstanding Young Farmers Program is to bring about a greater interest in the farmer to foster better urban-rural relations through the understanding of the farmers’ endeavors, to develop a further appreciation for their contributions and achievements, and to inform the agribusiness community of the growing urban awareness of farmers’ importance and impact on America’s economy.

The National Outstanding Young Farmers Awards Congress is the culmination of that intense independent judging process. Nominees from across the United States are eligible and may be submitted by anyone. Multiple nominations from any one state are permitted; however, following the judging process to determine the semifinalists, no more than two from any state will be chosen.

To qualify for the award, nominees must be between the ages of 21 and 40, not becoming 41 prior to January 1 before the National OYF Awards Congress. Nominees must also be actual farm operators, deriving a minimum of two-thirds of their income from farming.
National winners are determined based on personal contributions in the following categories:

• Progress in agricultural career (50%);
• Extent of soil and water conservation practices (25%);
• Contributions to the well-being of the community, state, and nation (25%).

The NOYF program selected its first group of national winners in 1955. The program is sponsored by John Deere, administered by the Outstanding Farmers of America, and supported by the U.S. Jaycees, the National Association of Conservation Districts, and the National Association of County Agricultural Agents.

For more information or to nominate an agricultural producer for the award, visit www.outstandingfarmers.com or the Outstanding Farmers of America on Facebook.

Rate this article: 
Average: 4.7 (3 votes)