New academic award introduced at East Elementary in light of change

This year a new award was given at East Elementary School in Waukon at the end of the school year. The new award will be replacing the East Academic Award (pictured in additional photo above), as sixth grade students next year will be part of Waukon Middle School instead of East Elementary. The new award is called the "All A's All The Time" award and will be presented to fifth grade students who have been on the "A" honor roll at East Elementary for all six semesters of their attendance. The winners of this year's inaugural award are pictured above with retiring East Elementary School Principal Ann Hart. Left to right - Front row: Vivian Khan, Madelyn Helgerson, Kiara Ahlstrom, Abby Wiemerslage, Jacob Skarlis, Justine Sullivan, Hannah Teslow. Back row: Caleb Block, Lincoln Snitker, Braden Hemann, Vicente Quiroz, Principal Ann Hart, Kaitlyn Snyder, Ashlyn Johnson. Submitted photo.