Kee High School to host UIC Speech Contest for first time ever this Saturday ...

For the first time in its history, Kee High School will have the privilege of hosting the Upper Iowa Conference Speech Contest this Saturday, January 13 from 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Ten Upper Iowa Conference (UIC) schools, including MFL/MarMac, Clayton Ridge, South Winneshiek, Postville, Starmont, North Fayette Valley, West Central, Turkey Valley, Central Elkader and Kee, will attend and bring their large group speech teams to perform for a critic judge where ratings will be given based on how well the teams performed. This contest is designed to prepare these conference schools for the District Contest being held this year at MFL/MarMac High School in Monona January 20.

At Kee High School this Saturday, there will be five performance rooms that will have teams from all 10 UIC schools competing throughout the day. The events being performed include One Act, Choral Reading, Music Theatre, Readers Theatre, Group Mime, Solo Mime, Group Improvisational Acting, Ensemble Acting, Film, TV News Broadcasting and Radio Broadcasting. There will be a $3 donation requested at the door to help with the expenses of the contest and to raise funds for the Kee High School Speech program. Spectators are welcome to come for any of the performances and may enter any of the performance rooms between performances throughout the day. The high school cafeteria will be serving lunch and the concession stand will be open all day.

The Kee High School Speech program will have ten teams performing at the event, such as the students and extras pictured above preparing to shoot footage for Kee's Short Film entry in the contest. Those teams include the following students: Short Film - Sahreya Dodd, Allison Donley, Amanda Fahey, Dawson Sires, Jack Mooney, Jada Mitchell, Jaiden Berns, Kellen Maddox, Kyle Conway, Logan West, Macy Vinson, Nicki Wood, Peter Boland, Theron Maddox, Will Mooney; Radio News Broadcasting - Brock Flack, Jack Mooney, Nicki Wood, Michelle Walleser, Macy Manning; Group Improvisation: Brock Flack, Anthony Martin, Jacob Berns, Logan West; Group Improvisation: Peter Boland and Theron Maddox; Group Improvisation: Allyvia Martin, Owen Henkes, Kellen Maddox, Will Mooney; Ensemble Acting: Amanda Fahey, Sahreya Dodd, Rachel Walleser, Kinley Schobert; Group Mime: Michelle Walleser, Kinley Schobert, Rachel Walleser, Neve Goetzinger; Group Mime: Makayla Peters and Macy Manning; Group Mime: Jada Mitchell, Jade Peterson, Jaiden Berns, Allison Donley; Solo Mime: Neve Goetzinger. Submitted photo.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet