Waukon High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) Chapter claims Chapter of the Year honors at 2021 State Leadership Conference

Waukon High School FBLA Chapter finishes as 2021 State Chapter of the Year at Leadership Conference ... Members of the Waukon High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) chapter are pictured above displaying the awards they earned in helping the chapter finish as the State Chapter of the Year at the 2021 FBLA State Leadership Conference held virtually in early April. Pictured immediately at center is outgoing Iowa Region 1 Vice President and Waukon High School senior Lilly Kossman holding the Lloyd V. Douglas Chapter of the Year Award earned by the Waukon FBLA Chapter this year. Pictured below is Waukon High School junior Vivian Khan, who will be replacing Kossman as Region 1 Vice President. Submitted photos.

The Waukon High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) chapter participated virtually in the 2021 State Leadership Conference in early April. Prior to the State Leadership Conference, students spent time preparing projects and taking tests to submit virtually to conference judges.

With the points accumulated through the students’ various project and testing finishes, the Waukon FBLA chapter earned the 2021 Iowa FBLA State Leadership Conference Lloyd V. Douglas Chapter of the Year Award in honor of the chapter’s first-place finish. In addition to the project, testing and overall team honors, Waukon High School junior Vivian Khan was voted in as the Region 1 Vice President for the 2021-2022 year, replacing Waukon High School senior Lilly Kossman, who has been serving as the 2020-2021 Region 1 Vice President.

First- through fourth-place individual or group finishes in the various areas of the Leadership Conference competition will now have the opportunity to submit their projects to the National Leadership Conference, which is also being held virtually later in June of this year. Waukon High School FBLA members earned the following top-four awards and placewinnings at the State Leadership Conference that will now be eligible for that National Leadership Conference:

3-D Animation
Kole Welch - 1st
Isaac Ericson, Dylan Hogan - 2nd (Group)

Accounting I
Lilly Kossman - 1st

Accounting II
Hailey Fahey - 1st

Brenna Berns - 1st

Madalyn Palmer - 1st
Claire Opperman - 3rd

American Enterprise Group Project
Bailey Shafer, Lilly Kossman, Delaney Nagel - 2nd

Banking & Financial
Systems Group Project
Rose Benda, Olivia Marti, Brooklyn Ottaway - 4th

Broadcast Journalism Group Project
Madalyn Helgerson, Hailey Houg, Hannah Teslow - 2nd

Business Communications
Brinley Jones - 4th

Client Service
Lilly Kossman - 1st

Coding & Programming
Bridget Duncklee - 2nd

Community Service Project
 Overall Chapter - 1st

Computer Applications
Madalyn Palmer - 1st

Computer Game and Simulation Programming Group Project
Bridget Duncklee, Alexis Hogan, Ashley Liddiard - 1st

Computer Problem Solving
Annika Headington - 3rd

Cyber Security
Vivian Khan - 2nd

Database Design and Applications
Kole Welch - 1st

Digital Video Production Group Project
Hailey Bresnahan, Denzel Decker, Kenzie Marting - 3rd

E-Business Group Project
Alexis Hogan, Ashley Liddiard - 2nd

Electronic Career Portfolio
Bailey Shafer - 1st

Emily Bieber, Grace Pearson - 1st

Future Business Leader
Joe Schwartz - 3rd

Help Desk
Delaney Nagel - 2nd
Abigail Shelton - 3rd

Impromptu Speaking
Delaney Nagel - 1st

Insurance and Risk Management
Ethan O’Neill - 1st

International Business Group Project
Daniel Gruman, Maddy Waters, Bailey Shafer - 1st

Introduction to Business
Azlynn Cota - 4th

Introduction to Business Communication
Lucas Byrnes - 2nd

Introduction to Business Group Presentation
Nate Keenan, Tanner Marting, James VanderVelden - 3rd

Introduction to Business Procedures
Caleb Perkins - 3rd

Introduction to Event Planning Group Project
Rose Benda, Olivia Marti, Brooklyn Ottaway - 3rd

Introduction to FBLA
Olivia Bossom - 3rd

Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure
Claire Opperman - 4th

Introduction to Public Speaking
James VanderVelden - 2nd

Introduction to Social Media Strategy
Ryan Kolsrud - 4th

Largest Chapter Membership
Overall Chapter - 1st

Local Chapter Annual Business Report
Overall Chapter - 2nd

Management Information Systems Group Project
Braden Hemann, Hunter O’Neill, Braxton Stewart - 1st

Marketing Group Project
Cameron Johnson, Kaitlyn Krambeer, Breckan Stewart - 3rd

Mobile Application Development Group Project
Braden Hemann, Vicente Quiroz, Braxton Stewart - 2nd

Network Design Group Project
Vivian Khan, Emma Palmer - 1st

Public Speaking
Ryan VanderVelden - 1st

Sales Presentation Group Project
Olivia Bossom, Madi Kurth - 4th

Securities and Investments
Jaden Hager - 1st
Nick Goltz - 2nd

Social Media Strategies Group Project
Martina Bresnahan, Maddy Waters - 3rd

Sports and Entertainment Management Group Project
Walker Hermeier, Ethan O’Neill, Joe Schwartz - 4th

Spreadsheet Application
Emily Bieber - 1st

Supply Chain Management
Brinley Jones - 1st

Website Design Group Project
Brenna Berns, Ella O’Neill - 4th

Word Processing
Ella O’Neill - 2nd

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)