Kee baseball team opens season with doubleheader loss at Decorah, wins Shooky Fink Tournament with pair of victories


Two-for-five with a run scored ... Kee baseball junior right fielder Chance Colsch smashes a pitch into the outfield in the first game of the Hawks’ season-opening doubleheader loss at Decorah Tuesday, May 25. Colsch swatted a pair of hits in five at-bats in that first game that included a double, scoring a run as well. Photo courtesy of Maggy Weymiller. View and find out how to purchase this photo and many more by clicking on the Photo Galleries link on this webpage.

The Kee baseball team book-ended its initial week of the 2021 season with results on each end of the win-loss spectrum, also having a Thursday, May 27 home doubleheader with MFL/MarMac postponed by rainy weather to a new June 11 date. On either side of that rescheduling, the Hawks got their season underway with a doubleheader loss at Decorah Tuesday, May 25 by scores of 8-4 and 11-1 in five innings before wrapping up the week with a pair of wins at home in their annual Shooky Fink Tournament Saturday, May 29, including a 6-0 victory over Northwood-Kensett followed by a 5-4 triumph over Davenport West.

The Kee baseball boys were next scheduled to play Anamosa and Clayton Ridge/Central Elkader in a Memorial Day Tournament at Riverfront Stadium in Waterloo Monday, May 31 before playing at North Fayette Valley Thursday, June 3, at Anamosa Friday, June 4 and then again in the Anamosa Tournament Saturday, June 5. The Hawks will then host Class 1A sixth-rated South Winneshiek for a doubleheader Monday, June 7, host Crestwood Wednesday, June 9, play at Clayton Ridge/Central Elkader Thursday, June 10, make up that May 27 home doubleheader with MFL/MarMac Friday, May 11 and then play in the Cedar River Classic Saturday, June 12 against Charles City and St. Ansgar.

For more complete coverage, pick up this week's print edition or subscribe to our e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet