Mother Nature is the only one to keep the Waukon softball girls from a win in initial week as they defeat Clayton Ridge, 14-4, and Kee, 6-2


Two hits, eight strike-outs ... Waukon softball freshman pitcher Cameron Johnson delivers a pitch in the Indians’ 6-2 home win over Kee Friday, May 28. Johnson allowed just two hits, struck out eight batters and also drove in a pair of runs at the plate in her complete-game victory. View and find out how to purchase this photo and many more by clicking on the Photo Galleries link on this webpage.

The Waukon softball team got its 2021 season off to an undefeated start this past week, with Mother Nature the only one to post an upperhand over the softball Tribe in postponing a home doubleheader with Charles City from its Thursday, May 27 origination to a June 25 date. On either side of that postponement the Lady Indians posted a pair of non-conference wins, 14-4 in six innings at Clayton Ridge Tuesday, May 25 and 6-2 at home over Kee Friday, May 28.

The Indian diamond dwellers are next scheduled to hit the road this week, playing at New Hampton Tuesday, June 1, a doubleheader at Waverly-Shell Rock Thursday, June 3, at South Winneshiek Friday, June 4 and in the North Fayette Valley Tournament Saturday, June 5. The softball Tribe will then travel to Oelwein Monday, June 7 before hosting Decorah for a doubleheader Wednesday, June 9 and then playing in the Riceville Tournament Saturday, June 12.

For more complete coverage, pick up this week's print edition or subscribe to our e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet