Waukon baseball team starts season off hot with pair of wins, cools a bit with three final losses at home in busy initial week


Season’s first start yields 13 Ks ... Waukon baseball sophomore pitcher Noah Hatlan fires a pitch in the Indians’ 11-1 home win in six innings over Clayton Ridge/Central Elkader to open the season Monday, May 24. Hatlan was one batter shy of the complete-game victory, giving up just two hits, no free passes and one run while striking out 13 batters. He also drew three walks and scored two runs in the win. View and find out how to purchase this photo and many more by clicking on the Photo Galleries link on this webpage.

The Waukon baseball team got its 2021 campaign off to a busy and initially promising start, equaling its entire win total from last season in just the first two games of this season with an 11-1 walk-off win at home in six innings Monday, May 24 over Clayton Ridge/Central Elkader followed by a 6-0 triumph at North Fayette Valley Tuesday, May 25. That hot start cooled off a bit over the latter half of the week, although still showing some promise with just a 3-2 loss to Class 1A sixth-rated South Winneshiek at home Wednesday, May 26 followed by a home doubleheader loss to Charles City Friday, May 28 that included a 14-4 loss in six innings followed by a 4-2 battle that also escaped the win column.

The Indians are next scheduled for another busy week that was set to begin at home with New Hampton Tuesday, June 1, hits the road for a non-conference tilt at MFL/MarMac Wednesday, June 2, returns home to host Sumner-Fredericksburg Thursday, June 3 and then travels to Waverly-Shell Rock for a doubleheader Friday, June 4. The baseball Tribe will then play at Oelwein Tuesday, June 8 and at Turkey Valley Wednesday, June 9 before hosting Decorah for a Northeast Iowa Conference home doubleheader Friday, June 11.

For more complete coverage, pick up this week's print edition or subscribe to our e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet