Waukon baseball team posts single win, 9-3 over MFL/MarMac, swept in three games vs. Northeast Iowa Conference teams


Lone double, one RBI ... Waukon baseball senior catcher Abe Schwartz puts a ball in play in the Indians’ 8-3 home loss to New Hampton Tuesday, May 29. Schwartz ripped the Indians’ only double in the contest, drove in one run and was credited with scoring one. View and find out how to purchase this photo and many more by clicking on the Photo Galleries link on this website.

The Waukon baseball team played through four more games this past week and for the second consecutive week picked up a single win in those four games. The Indians split a pair of home games, falling to New Hampton at home Tuesday, May 29 by an 8-3 result before securing a 9-3 win at home over MFL/MarMac Thursday, May 31 in a game postponed from Wednesday, May 30 by rain. The baseball Tribe wrapped up its week with a road doubleheader at Waverly-Shell Rock Friday, June 1, falling by mercy-rule scores of 15-0 and 11-1, both in five innings.

Now holding a 2-6 overall record with a 0-3 start to the Northeast Iowa Conference (NEIC) season, the Indians were scheduled to begin the week with three consecutive nights of baseball, beginning Monday, June 4 at home against Sumner-Fredericksburg before traveling to Oelwein and Turkey Valley Tuesday and Wednesday, June 5 and 6, respectively, and then wrapping up the week with a home doubleheader with Decorah Friday, June 8. The baseball Tribe is then slated for six games over four consecutive nights, hosting Clayton Ridge/Central Tuesday, June 12, playing a varsity doubleheader at Crestwood Wednesday, June 13 and at Osage Thursday, June 14 before traveling to Charles City for a three-game series Friday, June 15 that will include finishing up a May 25 doubleheader started at Waukon before wrapping up that season series with a third game that night.

For more complete coverage, pick up this week's print edition or subscribe to our e-edition by clicking here.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet