Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. Phone-A-Thon scheduled for February 12, 19 and 21

Scholarship funding should pass the $1 million mark this year

The 2018-2019 Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. (formerly Allamakee Dollars for Scholars) phone-a-thon to be held in February is the major fundraiser for the organization and is conducted by the student applicants in conjunction with the Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. Board of Directors. Students use phone banks at Waukon High School and at Waukon State Bank and Farmers and Merchants Savings Bank in Waukon to contact area residents in an effort to collect pledges of funding for scholarships. Phone-a-thon dates this year have been scheduled for Tuesday, February 12, Tuesday, February 19 and Thursday, February 21.

Every dollar raised goes to student scholarships and is tax-deductible. All funds raised from the phone-a-thon will be awarded this spring to scholarship applicants of the Waukon High School Class of 2019. Pledges need to be returned by March 30 so that spring scholarship plans by the organization can be completed.

Besides the pledge support solicited during the phone-a-thon, students can share information about Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc., group activities and the chapter’s endowment fund. Julie Rotach, Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. President, stated, “The community encouragement for the students has been super in past years and we hope to continue that educational support this year. Since 1993, Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. has awarded $991,373 in scholarships to 1,582 graduating seniors and alumni in the Allamakee Community School District. Last year, 51 students received $53,018 in scholarship awards. For the 14th year, the Allamakee Scholarship Fund board will also award alumni scholarships. This year is especially noteworthy because we should pass the $1 million mark for total scholarship money awarded. That is exciting to see that our community encourages and is so supportive of our students’ post-high school education goals.”

If someone does not receive a call and wishes to make a pledge, donations can be sent to Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc., P.O. Box 144, Waukon, IA 52172. Contributions also can be made by contacting any board member. Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. board members include Brent Beyer, Mary Jo Goodman, Steve Grotegut, Kathy Hay, Cindy Heffern, Sandy Lyons, Amy McCormick, Teresa Myers, Stefanie Perkins, Karen Regan, Julie Rotach, Amy Wasson and Kim Winters.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet