The Standard is seeking public input for upcoming election questionnaire

The Standard newspaper will be issuing questionnaires to candidates involved in contested races on this year's November 4 General Election ballot. In an effort to base those questions for the candidates on the issues of greatest concern to the people they will be representing, The Standard is asking residents of Allamakee County to submit questions they would like to have considered for inclusion in the General Election questionnaire.
Questions for the candidates must be based on issues and not on personal or private matters. Not all questions will be included on the questionnaire, but all questions will be considered and those appearing with the most frequency will likely be prioritized for inclusion.
Questions for inclusion in the questionnaire may be e-mailed to, mailed to The Standard, P.O. Box 286, Waukon, IA 52172, or dropped off at The Standard office at 15 First Street NW in Waukon by Friday, October 10. Please indicate which particular race submitted questions may pertain to, and the questions submitted will be asked of all candidates in that particular race. Questions must be accompanied by the name and telephone number of the individual submitting them. Those items will simply be used for verification and will not be included on the questionnaire.
Candidates in contested races on the November 4 General Election ballot in Allamakee County who are scheduled to receive questionnaires include the following:
• The three candidates to fill two seats on the Allamakee County Board of Supervisors: Democrat Dan Byrnes and Republicans Larry Schellhammer and Sherry Strub.
• The two candidates seeking the office of Iowa House of Representatives District 56: Republican Lowell Engle and Democrat Patti Ruff.
• The two candidates seeking the office of U.S. House of Representatives District 1 for the state of Iowa: Republican Rod Blum and Democrat Pat Murphy.
• The six candidates seeking the office of U.S Senator for the state of Iowa: Democrat Bruce Braley, Libertarian Douglas Butzier, Republican Joni Ernst, Bob Quast of Bob Quast for Term Limits, Ruth Smith and Independent Rick Stewart.
• The two candidates seeking the office of Iowa Attorney General: Republican Adam Gregg and Democrat Tom Miller.
• The three candidates seeking the office of Iowa Treasurer: Republican Sam Clovis, Democrat Michael Fitzgerald and Libertarian Keith Laube.
• The three candidates seeking the office of Iowa Secretary of Agriculture: Levi Benning of New Independent Party Iowa, Republican Bill Northey and Democrat Sherrie Taha.