Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. Phone-A-Thon taking place February 9, 12, 16

Waukon High School senior students will be conducting their annual scholarship program Phone-A-Thon fundraiser in early February, but this year phone call recipients will notice a slightly different change in the name of the scholarship program. The former Allamakee Dollars for Scholars, Inc. organization that has been the foundation for the local scholarship program that benefits Waukon High School graduating seniors has changed its affiliation this year and is now named Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc.
The 2014-2015 Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. Phone-A-Thon to be held in February is the major fundraiser for the organization and is conducted by the student applicants in conjunction with the Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. Board of Directors. Students use phone banks at Waukon High School and Waterville Elementary School and at Waukon State Bank and Farmers and Merchants Savings Bank in Waukon to conduct their calls, and will be doing so this year February 9, 12 and 16.
Every dollar raised by the Phone-A-Thon goes to student scholarships and is tax-deductible. All funds raised from the phone-a-thon will be awarded this spring to scholarship applicants of the Waukon High School Class of 2015. Pledges need to be returned by March 30 so that spring scholarship plans by the organization can be completed. Besides the pledge support solicited during the phone-a-thon, students can share information about Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc., its activities and the chapter’s endowment fund.
Julie Rotach, Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. President,stated, "The community encouragement for the students has been super in past years and we hope to continue that educational support this year.  Since 1993, Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. has awarded $757,085 in scholarships to 1,345 graduating seniors in the ACSD. Last year, 57 students received $53,080 in scholarship awards. For the tenth year, the Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. Board will also award an alumni scholarship."
If someone does not receive a call and wishes to make a pledge, donations can be sent to Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc., P.O. Box 144, Waukon, IA 52172. Contributions also can be made at the Recognition Breakfast April 10 or by contacting any board member. Allamakee Scholarship Fund, Inc. board members include Kris Fahey, Mary Jo Goodman, Colleen Gragg, Steve Grotegut, Kathy Hay, Cindy Heffern, Maynard Johnson, Sandy Lyons, Amy McCormick, Teresa Myers, Karen Regan, Allan Rissman, Julie Rotach, Amy Wasson and Kim Winters.