Waukon High School Speech has two teams nominated for All-State Festival...

Saturday, February 4 the Waukon High School Speech Department participated in the State Large Group Speech Contest at Dubuque Senior High School. Waukon had nine groups involving 36 students that had been selected to participate at State from the District contest held previously in Decorah. Throughout the day, the nine groups either performed or presented their taped presentations.  The groups ranging from a One Act play to taped radio programs were judged by a panel of three certified judges. The judges gave ratings from 1 to 4, with the best being a 1 rating and a 4 is a disqualification. The ratings of the three judges are averaged together for the final rating. Waukon had six groups receive one ratings and three groups receive two ratings. Then each judge is able to nominate groups for the All-State Festival, which is a very distinguished award. Waukon had two of its groups also receive this honor, including the radio news group KBMB and the short film titled "Seven." The All-State short film was produced by the students pictured above, left to right: Matt Hoins, Tyler O’Neill, Kaia Johanningmeier and Megan O’Neill, with Jacob Hosch also participating but not being pictured. The students involved in the All-State radio broadcast are pictured below, left to right: Sean Liddiard, Emily Kolsrud, Emily Brown, Dolan Jones and Teddy Holthaus. These students will be honored at the All-State Large Group Speech Festival in Ames this Saturday, February 18. "It has been a very successful year for the speech students and they are now preparing their individual speeches for the district individual contest that will be held February 25 at MFL/MarMac," said Waukon High School Speech instructor Louise Wild. Photos courtesy of the Waukon High School Yearbook.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet