Waukon High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) Chapter denied third consecutive State Championship, places second at State Leadership Conference

A mere four points separated the Waukon High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) chapter from winning a third consecutive Chapter of the Year State Championship at the annual FBLA State Leadership Conference (SLC) held April 6-8 in Coralville. Despite bringing home double-digit totals each of contest championship and runner-up results, along with numerous other top-five placewinnings, the Waukon chapter was edged out of its Chapter of the Year "three-peat" by a Western Dubuque chapter that featured 25 more students in attendance than what the Waukon High School chapter involved.

"It was a good weekend, yet a little disappointing at the same time," Waukon High School FBLA Advisor Joan Schwartz said in regard to her chapter being narrowly edged out of a third consecutive Chapter of the Year reign. "We finished second in the state, just four points behind Western Dubuque, who had about 25 more students in attendance. Mathematically, we should not have been that close but the students did such an amazing job at their projects and tests that it put us very close to a State Championship."

The annual State Leadership Conference is an opportunity for students to compete against other students from around the state of Iowa in various business-related tests, presentations and speeches. Many projects were done throughout the past couple of months and then presented to judges at the Conference. Events also included case studies and written tests. The event is scored much like a track meet, with first-place finishers scoring the most points, and so on.

Also taking place during the Conference is the election of State FBLA Officers, with Waukon High School junior Laurel Keenan being elected as State Vice President for the 2017-2018 year. Keenan ended her tenure as this past year's State Secretary after being elected to that office at last year's Conference.

The top-end event finishers from the State Leadership Conference now have the option of advancing to the National Leadership Conference slated for June 28-July 3 in Anaheim, CA. Event placewinnings earned by the Waukon High School FBLA chapter members at this year’s State Leadership Conference include the following:

Michaela Dehli and Leslie Halverson - 3D Animation
Brigid Berns - Accounting I
Morgan Van Ruler - Accounting II
Austyn Ede, Emma Hatlan, Deana Schlitter - Battle of the Chapters Advanced
Alyx Ede, Maddie Ellingson, Logan Houg - Battle of the Chapters
Sydney Herman - Business Calculations
Max Swartz  - Business Law
Jacob Hosch - Coding and Programming
Claire Beyer and Regan Wasson - Global Business
Katelyn Benzing - Introduction to Business
Aubree Cota and Austyn Ede - Local Chapter Annual Business Report
Lauren Elliott, Laurel Keenan, Logan Sullivan - Local Chapter Exhibit
Mason Hermeier - Public Speaking II
Kasinda McKee - Organizational Leadership
Alyx Ede and Callie Ferring - Random Acts of Kindness
Claire Beyer, Sydney Herman, Regan Wasson - Spelling Relay Advanced
Tanner Mathis, Brandon Regan, Abe Schwartz - Sports & Entertainment Management

Maddie Ahlstrom - Accounting I
Caryssa Hermanson, Mason Hermeier, Laurel Keenan - Battle of the Chapters Advanced
Maddie Ahlstrom, Lauryn Behrend, Ally Goltz - Battle of the Chapters
Carley Sweeney - Client Service
Jacob Hosch - Computer Game & Sim Programming
Robbie Drew - Introduction to Information Technology
Abe Schwartz - Job Interview
Autumn Johnson - Journalism
Aaron Sherman - Organizational Leadership
Grace Blocker - Sales
Tyler Block, Reed Kelly, Brady Sullivan - Spelling Relay
Lanci Bulman, Logan Sullivan, Max Swartz - Vocabulary Relay Advanced
Katelyn Benzing - Word Processing

Gabby Marti - Accounting II
Bailey Mathis - Agribusiness
Caryssa Hermanson - Business Communications
Aubree Cota, Alyx Ede, Lauren Elliott - Business Financial Plan
Katelyn Benzing - Business Terminology
Deana Schlitter - Client Service
Aubree Cota - FBLA Principles and Procedures
Grace Blocker, Emma Hatlan, Sydney Herman - Management Decision Making
Lanci Bulman and Max Swartz - Public Service Announcement
Brady Beyer, Leah Bulman, Brock Hatlan - Spelling Relay
Michaela Dehli, Michael Headington, Mary Vander Velden - Vocabulary Relay

Peyton Bieber - Agribusiness
Quinton Lewis - Computer Game & Sim Programming
Claire Beyer, Mason Hermeier, Regan Wasson - E-Business
Morgan Van Ruler - Filing
Sydney Ross - Introduction to Business Procedures
Lauren Elliott - Job Interview
Kasinda McKee and Hannah Rogers - NLC T-Shirt Design
Laurel Keenan - Public Speaking II
Robbie Drew - Technology Practical Applications

Andrew Dickson - Advertising
Rylee Einck, Bailey Mathis, Carley Sweeney - Banking and Financial Systems
Annika Anderson, Caitlin Shelton, Carley Sweeney - Community Service Projects
Aaron Sherman - Economics
Rylea Nagel - Career Electronic Portfolio
Lauren Griffith, Michael Headington, Mary VanderVelden - Entrepreneurship
Robbie Drew - Help Desk
Mary Vander Velden - Introduction to Business Communication
Maddie Ellingson, Allison Hagensick, Katie Hagensick - Marketing
Grace Blocker and Courtney Hirth - Social Media Campaign
Kasinda McKee - Word Processing

Lauryn Behrend - Accounting I
Heidi Dougherty, Laurel Keenan, Logan Sullivan - Business Ethics
Kaia Johanningmeier, Gabby Marti, Morgan Van Ruler - Emerging Business Issues
Maddie Ahlstrom, McKenzie Cooper, Ally Goltz - Entrepreneurship
Ally Goltz - FBLA Principles and Procedures
Brady Beyer - Help Desk
Callie Ferring - Impromptu
Logan Sullivan - Insurance and Risk Management
Leah Bulman - Introduction to Business Procedures
Reed Kelly - Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure

Rate this article: 
No votes yet