Livestock master matrix adopted in 89 counties

In January, 89 of Iowa’s 99 counties notified DNR that they plan to evaluate construction permit applications and proposed animal confinement locations by using the master matrix. With few exceptions, most counties will use the matrix during the next year. The following counties will not use the matrix in 2020: Davis, Des Moines, Keokuk, Lee, Mahaska, Osceola, Plymouth, Wapello, Warren, Washington.

Animal confinement producers who need a construction permit before building in counties which use the matrix must meet additional requirements. Producers qualify by choosing a site and using practices that reduce impacts on air, water and the community.

Counties that adopt the master matrix can provide more input to producers on site selection, and proposed structures and facility management. Participating counties score each master matrix submitted in their county and can recommend that DNR approve or deny the construction permit. They can also join in DNR visits to a proposed confinement site.

Find more information, including a map of participating counties by searching for Master Matrix at or directly on the master matrix web page.

The master matrix applies to producers who must get a construction permit to build, expand or modify a totally roofed facility. Generally, these are confinement feeding operations with at least 2,500 finishing hogs, 1,000 beef cattle or 715 mature dairy cows.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet