Kee Speech program advances all 29 roster members to State Contest

The Kee High School Speech program advanced all 29 members of this year’s roster to the State Large Group Speech Contest after a very successful day at the District Contest held at Turkey Valley High School Saturday, January 20. The 11 teams competing at that District competition compiled nine 1 ratings and a pair of 2 ratings, including the following: Reader’s Theatre, Solo Mime, Group Mime, Ensemble, three Radio News acts and two of three Improvisational Acting performances all received 1 ratings, with the other Improvisational Acting team and a One Act performance each receiving a 2 rating Saturday. The State Large Group Speech Contest will be held February 4 at Waterloo West High School.

Pictured above are this year’s Kee Speech team members. Left to right - Front row: Brooklyn Bakewell, Phoenix Crass, Neva Peterson, Jaylyn Walleser, Alaina Bakewell and Rhianna Jones, who are all seniors in this year’s program; Middle row: Noah Connelly, Andrew Kolsrud, Summer Walleser, Zoey Timmerman, Izzy Mettille, Payton Becker, Lilly Kolsrud, Addison Winters, Danica Janzen, Ashlyn Henkes; Back row: Cadan Evanson, Sawyer Gramlich, Holden Welsh (crew member), Sean Lopez Vega, Izzy Hammell, Gabe Mattson, Brendan Jones, Jack Schweitzer, Justin Wagner, Isaiah Wagner, Riley Troendle, Austin St. Mary, Brendan Croft, Carter Verthein. Submitted photo.