Participants in NEIC Music Festival ...

Members of the Waukon High School Band and Choir programs attended the Northeast Iowa Conference (NEIC) Music Festival held Monday, January 16 at Waverly-Shell Rock High School in Waverly. The NEIC Festival has changed its format recently, alternating between having an Honor Band and an Honor Orchestra. This year, the festival hosted an Honor Orchestra. The Honor Choir is held annually at the event. The students rehearsed throughout the day and presented a concert for the public that evening.

Eight Waukon High School Choir members participated in the Honor Choir, directed by Wartburg College Choir Director Dr. Lee Nelson. Those participating in the Honor Choir included: Left to right - Front row: Kylie Strittmater and Annie Ellingson (far left and far right in front row trio); Back row: Sarah Stock, Molly Peake, Caleb Perkins, Dekota Bechtel, Gabe Goettel and Olivia Dougherty. The choir members are directed by Waukon High School Choir Director Sarah Bieber.

As the festival hosted an Honor Orchestra for 2023, the Waukon Band program was limited in the number of students who were able to represent Waukon High School. There were only 18 wind or percussion parts included with the full  orchestra for the festival, directed by Wartburg College Orchestra Director Dr. Rebecca Nederhiser. Bailey Sherman (center of front row trio in above photo) was the lone band member selected to represent Waukon, and she performed on the flute for the festival. She is instructed by Waukon High School Band Director Jo Ann Sherman. Submitted photo.