Allamakee County among seven counties approved for Federal Disaster Assistance following Mississippi River spring flooding

The Iowa Governor’s Office has received notification that the State of Iowa’s request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration has been granted for seven counties that were severely impacted by spring flooding earlier this year along the Mississippi River. Counties included in the declaration include Allamakee and Clayton in northeast Iowa, along with Des Moines, Dubuque, Jackson, Lee and Scott Counties.

Under the declaration, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance Program funding is available to eligible public entities and nonprofit organizations in the designated counties that were impacted by the April 24-May 13, 2023 Mississippi River flooding. Public Assistance funding may be used for emergency work, such as debris removal and emergency protective measures, or for the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

The governor also received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state of Iowa. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future disasters by taking steps to reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards, such as flooding.