Allamakee County inductees into Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame

Amy and Greg Lage inducted into Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame ... Greg and Amy Lage of Postville were selected as this year’s inductees into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame for Allamakee County. Pictured above at the induction ceremony held Sunday, August 20 as part of the Iowa State Fair are Iowa 4-H Foundation Executive Director Emily Saveraid, Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame inductees Amy and Greg Lage, and Iowa 4-H Staff and Volunteer Development Manager Tillie Good. Submitted photo.

Greg and Amy Lage of Allamakee County were inducted into the 2023 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame during a ceremony at the 4-H Exhibits Building at the Iowa State Fair Sunday, August 20. Ninety-one Iowa counties participated this year and selected 127 inductees for their outstanding service and dedication to 4-H. Inductees or their surviving family members were presented a certificate by Iowa 4-H Foundation President David Bolte and Interim State 4-H Program Leader Mitchell Hoyer as they were introduced on stage.

The contribution to 4-H by Greg and Amy Lage of Postville is widely felt, said ISU Extension and Outreach Allamakee County Youth Coordinator Marissa Foels. This year’s inductees started as youth members of 4-H when they were nine years old and remained active through their early adult years.

They continued to instill the value of 4-H in their two daughters and can still be found behind the scenes supporting and encouraging the youth in Allamakee County.

Counties select inductees for their exceptional work in contributing to the lives of 4-H members and the overall 4-H program, said Foels. Many inductees serve as club leaders, youth mentors, fair superintendents or fair board members, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach County council members, county youth council members, fair judges, financial supporters, chaperones or ISU Extension and Outreach staff members. The inductees have demonstrated dedication, encouragement, commitment and guidance to Iowa’s 4-H’ers through the years.

“We are honored to recognize these special individuals, for their advocacy and dedication to the Iowa 4-H program,” shared Iowa 4-H Foundation Executive Director Emily Saveraid.

“This is a great way to honor the volunteers and staff across the state of Iowa that generously give their time and talents to foster positive partnerships with our 4-H youth,” said Tillie Good, Iowa 4-H staff and volunteer development manager.

The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame was initiated in 2002 to help commemorate the 100th anniversary of 4-H. A summary of previous honorees was on display at the 2023 Iowa State Fair in the 4-H Exhibits Building on the Iowa State Fairgrounds in Des Moines. These summaries are also available at the Iowa 4-H Foundation office in the Extension 4-H Youth Building at Iowa State University.

Information about previous inductees to the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame also is available on the Iowa 4-H Foundation website, organized by year and by county. Go to and under the heading “What We Do” select “Recognizing Service” then “Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame.”